Through the Wheel of the Year: Week 1

I will be using Rev. Michael J. Dangler’s The ADF Dedicant Path Through the Wheel of the Year to guide my progress on the Dedicant’s Path.  I’ve actually been working on this for a short time and have completed some of the assignments.  I’ll post these as I go along and appreciate any feedback that you all may have for me 🙂

Here was the First Week’s Assignment:

Some questions may be raised by the introduction and the requirements, and that is good, for we very much wish all of our Dedicants to go into this path with open minds, open hearts, and open eyes. Some questions that might come up you will certainly need to answer, and your assignment for the next week is to consider these questions carefully. “Why have you chosen to take the first steps on the Dedicant Path? Initially, it was pure curiosity.  I wanted to learn about what the Druid path was all about.  This gave me an opportunity to learn about it, in a manner that works with what I’m doing.  Now, I feel like I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole, and I just want to see how for it goes. 

Is this a step on your path, or will this become the Path itself? This one, I’m not sure about.  Right now, it’s a step on my path, but as I continue to explore, it maybe something more.  I must admit that I really enjoy it.  Perhaps it is destiny 🙂

What do you expect to learn? I expect to learn about the path, others who are walking it, and about myself in relation to the rest of the cosmos.

What would you like to get out of this journey? I’m not trying to place expectations on what I want out of this practice, I’m just enjoying the journey.

Do you know where this path will take you? No, and that’s okay with me.  I rather like the adventure 🙂

If you have just joined ADF, why have you chosen to work on this immediately? It provides me with a manner to learn about the path and to incorporate things into a daily practice for me right away.  I like the measurable milestones in this process.

If you have been in ADF for a long time, why are you starting only now? N/A

Does it look hard or easy? It looks time consuming.  Neither hard nor easy, just time consuming.

Which requirements appear to be difficult to you now, and which appear to be easy? Some of the more ritualistic stuff appears more difficult, while some of the other essays on the virtues seem easier.

Do you have doubts, questions, or concerns that you need to ask about? Not at the moment, I’ll be curious to see where this goes 🙂

Journal Reflections 11/25/15

So, I got back into the grove today with my journaling and started the ADF Dedicant Path Through the Wheel of the Year.  I like how it is laid out and it seems as though this task seems much less daunting.  I finished the first week’s suggested reading and this homework entry.   I think I have a better understanding of how to organize my work as well as what is expected on the assignments.  I also purchased a few extra books to help me understand the rituals a little better.  It is my hope that it I will have a good daily practice established here in a couple of weeks.  I plan on starting small and simple until I get into a good rhythm with nature and the seasons and then I will expand.  Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a comment